Sometimes you hear people in SaaS talk about their Renewal Rate and you wonder what they exactly mean. This post will help you understand, calculate and define SaaS Renewal Rates.
Before you read this post we recommend you reading our short post about Calculating SaaS Churn
This blog post will cover the definitions for:
SaaS Renewal Rate ($)
Count Renewal Rate is defined as: # of customers who renew their contract / total number of contracts up for renewal
Example 1: you have 100 clients,10 are coming up for renewal this month, 2 of them churn
Your renewal rate is 80% (8/10)
Dollar Renewal Rate is defined as: the total value of renewed contracts / total value of contracts up for renewal
Example 2: you have 100 clients, they all pay $12,000 for a 12 month contract ($1,000 MRR),10 are coming up for renewal this month, 2 of them churn
Your renewal rate is: 80% ($8,000 MRR / $10,000 MRR)
Example 3: you have 100 clients, they all pay $12,000 for a 12 month contract ($1,000 MRR),10 are coming up for renewal this month, 2 of them churn but you manage to up-sell one of them (from 1,000 MRR to $4,000 MRR)
Your MRR Renewal Rate is: 110% ($11,000 MRR / $10,000 MRR)
1. Count Renewal Rate can, at its best, be 100%
2. Dollar Renewal Rate can (and should be!) more than 100% for a SaaS business.
Read Dave Kellog's post here if you want to drill deeper into this metric
Whether you’re looking to hire CSMs, or if you’re a CSM on the hunt for a new position, this is the webinar for you!
Automations can be hugely beneficial, but the need for human interactions in customer-facing roles like CS is more important than ever. So, how do you get the right balance?
Our host Anika Zubair chats with Kristi Faltorusso, VP of Customer Success at IntelliShift, on switching from a reactive to proactive CS.
Drop your email and let us show you our platform!
Thank you for your interest in Planhat.
You will hear from us soon!
Sorry, an unexpected error occurred. Try again later!